“If it works for you, it’s 100% successful.”

I’ve been reading “Gone In A Heartbeat: A Physicians Search for True Healing” I’ve had many moments when I have read something that quickly made an impact on my life. I’m sure you’ve experienced this moment before. When you’re reading and you have to stop and take a breath because it makes so much sense. Sometimes this moment can feel like a giant thud into your heart as you realize you’ve been so wrong about something. Other times it will be like a sudden weight has been lifted because you realize you’re not alone, or you’ve found an answer.

“If it works for you, it’s 100% successful.”

I took a moment after reading this. I had to let it sink in. Life is often a numbers game. If you get a 98% on this test, you have an 85% chance of getting into this school. If you try this drug, you have a 17% chance of some horrible a side effect but 67% chance of feeling better. Every year after the age of 30 you lose ___% of fertility. (Whoops, didn’t mean to go and get all personal there.)

We try to balance out the positives with the negatives. Over 51% is good right? But not as good as if your chances are 61% or even better, 71%!! But at the end of the day, the percentage doesn’t matter because it was either 100% successful for you, or 100% not successful.

I wonder how knowing these numbers might change the actual outcome. What if we went into everything thinking we had a 100% chance of getting what we wanted?

“If it works for you, it’s 100% successful.”

One thought on ““If it works for you, it’s 100% successful.”

Leave a comment